History‎ > ‎


Harvard High School has hosted a 16 team tournament in Harvard for 51 consecutive years. The tournament started out to be an eight team tournament but they received an overwhelming response when looking for teams to compete. So it was decided to expand the tournament to 16 teams. It is believed to be the first 16 team tournament in Illinois as it was unheard of to have that many teams gather for a two day tournament back in those days.  Thus, it was billed as Harvard’s 16 Team Tournament. For several years the name was changed to The Harvard Holiday Tournament because 16 team tournaments were not that unique anymore and it always fell just before the Christmas holiday.

Finally, it was renamed in honor of the founders of the tournament: The John Sciacca/Richard Holtfreter Invitational Tournament.

Sciacca / Holtfreter Tournament

Team Finalists
Champion          Runner-up
1967 Belvidere Beloit

1968 Sycamore Harvard

1969 Crystal Lake Rockford Guilford

1970 Rochelle Carmel

1971 Carmel Sycamore

1972 Carmel Harvard

1973 West Aurora Woodstock

1974 Bremen Aurora

1975 Bremen Harlem

1976 Harlem West Aurora

1977 Bremen Rockford Boylan

1978 Dundee Crown Harlem

1979 Dundee Crown Woodstock

1980 Sycamore Harlem

1981 Sycamore West Aurora

1982 Harvard Tie Woodstock

1983 Woodstock Dundee Crown

1984 Dundee Crown Round Lake

1985 West Aurora Dundee Crown

1986 Dundee Crown Harvard

1987 Dundee Crown Belvidere

1988 McHenry Woodstock

1989 Round Lake Belvidere

1990 Harvard Belvidere

1991 West Aurora Belvidere

1992 Belvidere West Aurora

1993 West Aurora Harlem

1994 Harvard Woodstock

1995 Sycamore Hononegah

1996 Hononegah Harvard

1997 Harvard Hononegah

1998 DeKalb Hononegah

1999 Hononegah DeKalb

2000 Stanford Olympia Hononegah

2001 Dekalb Belvidere

2002 Dekalb Belvidere

2003 Dundee Crown Sandwich

2004 Harvard Dundee Crown

2005 Hononegah Dundee Crown

2006 Hononegah Woodstock

2007 Crystal Lake Central Harvard

2008 Dundee Crown Harvard

2009 Richmond Dundee Crown

2010 Crystal Lake South Harvard

2011 Harvard Richmond

2012 Huntley Round Lake

2013  Dundee Crown  Antioch

2014  Huntley  Harvard

2015  Harvard   Grayslake North

2016  Antioch   Grayslake North

2017  Milton   Grayslake North